Home > Uncategorized > The Gender Stereotypes

The Gender Stereotypes


Recently a colleague of mine asked me if am married and if I am, why do I stay late at office despite having extra responsibilities at home.  I asked him if he would have asked the same to a male colleague and the reply was yes. He said he would have asked if his wife doesn’t scold him for going home late.

There was another incident where another friend of mine asked me how do I get time to make dinner when I reach home so late. I said I don’t, my mother in law cooks. Knowing me well, he was little scared to speak his mind, afraid that I might eat him alive if I didn’t like what he had to say. He anyway gathered his guts and remarked- Actually post marriage you should be cooking for her not vice versa. And these are educated men who I am sure have never made even a cup of tea for their parents.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not here today to do the male bashing. Women equally contribute to it and most of us do not even think it as wrong because we  grow up seeing these gender defined roles and its etched in our subconscious.

Gender Stereotyping- Whether we realize it or not unconsciously we all contribute to it. Some might argue what is wrong with it. Both genders were designed for certain roles and for a perfect balance, peace and harmony its good to stick to it. Well, I call that cavemen thinking. We have evolved so much from the days when we needed these gender norms. And it is only stupid to still go by those rules. Gender stereotypes only establishes the feeling of one gender being superior to another. It gives meaning to the word “weaker sex”. It is the main culprit behind most women related issues. and boosts the social evils like- gender discrimination, dowry, female infanticide.

Here is my small attempt on the topic.

Anuradha_Kumari

Stepping into the world
For the first time on my own
Excited and Nervous
of the adventures to unfold
Dressed in my best
I walked Confident and Bold
Until,
I heard someone say
It’s a man’s territory
How long would a woman role play?

Ignoring the ignorant, I kept up the pace
And met another along the race

The career you are now
struggling to build
Will soon be gathering dust
With your dreams
Time will slowly kill
All your desires
To be the woman
You now admire
You won’t be the person
You are today
And before you know
The confidence will fade away

It broke my heart, to see her give up
As I soared high, met another well wisher

The stony path of success
Will not be gentle on your heels
Been led all your life
How well will you lead?
Taught to give up
What is yours by right
In the real battle
How will you fight?
Confined to the four walls
You ought to be
The world is not safe
For a woman so free
How will you explain to them
Your will to fight the world
To carve a name for yourself
Among the great leaders
Who will even regard you
For what you achieve
It’s all about what you wear
And the looks that deceive
Worried for your good
You will be made to heed
A knight in shining armor
They say all you need
Caught up between family and work
You will do justice to none at all
Who will make your home
If you do the man’s job
With roles and responsibilities
Always clutching at your wings
How high will you soar
Carrying burden of everything
Every joy of a tiny success
Will fill you with guilt and regrets
Why don’t you be happy
Staying in your zone
Leave the world to the man
You make a beautiful home

I thought for a while
Of a befitting reply
There was truth in every word
Why did it then sound absurd?
Should I just give up and whine
Is dreaming big such a crime
Sitting in a comfort zone
I can’t blame the world and moan
Let them judge let them speak
I know I am not that weak
Every fall at every wrong
I will rise up strong
I will be the woman
I want to be
Conquer the world
And let them see!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

